Female Privilege

1 Like

Affirmative action and everything that is exclusively for women, is incredibly messed up. I don’t find it empowering. I find it really condescending. Like, because I’m a woman, I need extra help. I don’t think I do. This is where feminism gets really misogynistic. If women are actually equal, we should just be treated equal. If we have the ability to compete alongside men, then feminists should shut it and let us do exactly that.

I’m an indie author, and this kind of thing happens a lot in the writing sphere too. There are opportunities exclusively for women writers. There are curated reading lists on serialization sites of women writers. I’m not big time, but I’ve had people try to include my work in this sort of thing before (not anything too high profile), and I turn it down out of principle. I’d rather have no exposure than the wrong type of exposure.

There’s also a TON of pressure right now to read more women writers. I find that so obnoxious. My book shelf is a meritocracy and I’m not sorry that I like a lot of male authors.

Anyway, MRA-ally here to say, yep. It’s gross. And more women should be calling this stuff out as the pandering, actually misogynistic stuff it is.

1 Like

My sister got a Nursing scholarship for studying at University (she’s already a registered nurse here via Community College).

I kept asking her what the scholarship was for, since I knew she had shit grades (my admission scholarships were from having extremely high grades, didn’t even apply. The only scholarship I have ever been granted were automatic ones based on grades; I was rejected for every optional one I ever applied for). Couldn’t get an answer out of her, likely hiding something.